Three Questions for Poet Donna Snyder from Miriam’s Well

Thank you, Miriam Sagan, for including this interview of me in your series found at Miriam’s Well.

Catafalco_Cove_final

Miriam's Well: Poetry, Land Art, and Beyond

Questions

What is your personal/aesthetic relationship to the poetic line? That is, how do you understand it, use it, etc.

Aside from childhood efforts, I began writing poetry in my early 30s, without any academic training. I was an obsessive lap swimmer, and my line length tended to be similar in length, read aloud as my natural breath. I soon became aware of the use of lines to emphasize specific words and images. Later, my line breaks began to signal both punctuation and continuation. My writing is innately rhythmic, likely influenced by performing my poetry with a band of musicians, artist, and performance poets from the West Texas/Northern Chihuahua/Southern New Mexico border region.

Do you find a relationship between words and writing and the human body? Or between your writing and your body?

The connection between my body and my poetry is multilayered. I tend to write in an uncalculated…

View original post 626 more words

Leave a Reply

